

# NORTH CENTRAL COMMUNITY SERVICES PROGRAM BOARD GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

June 23, 2021		3:00 PM		NCHC – Wausau Board Room
Present:	X X	Robin Stowe Deb Hager	Х	Chad Billeb
Others:	Jill Meschke, Dejan Adzic, Debbie Osowski			

### Call to Order

- Meeting called to order at 3:02 p.m. by R. Stowe.
- Pursuant to the Bylaws of the NCCSP Board, Chair Gibbs appointed Deb Hager, Chad Billeb, and Robin Stowe as the Governance Committee and asked Stowe to chair the meeting.
- A quorum is noted as present.

### Public Comment for Matters Appearing on the Agenda

• No public comment.

Action: Approval of the August 19, 2020 Governance Committee Minutes

- It was noted that none of the current three members of the Governance Committee were at the meeting on August 19, 2020.
- **Motion**/second, Hager/Billeb, to approve the August 19, 2020 Governance Committee Minutes. Motion carried.

Scope of the Governance Committee as Set Forth in NCCSP Bylaws

- To be consistent with the NCCSP Bylaws, the Governance Committee recommends a slate of officers of Chair, Chair Elect, and Secretary/Treasurer to the Board at the annual meeting which is 6/24/2021. The Bylaws also require open nominations at the annual meeting.
- From the 8/19/2020 Governance Committee minutes, work is in progress for board development and competencies, the role and authority of this committee, and are correct in accordance with the Bylaws.
- K. Gibbs currently serves as Chair of the NCCSP Board, Eric Anderson is Chair Elect, and the position of Secretary/Treasurer is vacant.
- This Committee's role is to bring forward nominations for those positions and report to the Board.

## Approve Slate of Nominations to Fill Vacating Board Officer Positions

- NCCSP Bylaws indicate nomination of each officer should be made by majority agreement of the Governance Committee.
- Terms of office are 1-year from the annual meeting, however, the officer continues to serve until Board duly elects the next officer. Two positions must be brought for election at the annual meeting that being Chair Elect and Secretary/Treasurer. There is no limit to consecutive terms. The Chair does not need to be elected at the annual meeting. The Chair has a 1-year term from appointment. The current Chair is within the 1-year term and may continue to serve until the Board elects after the 1-year term or annual meeting.
- Discussion for slate of nominations for the Chair Elect and Secretary/Treasurer included the current officers in those positions. Stowe also asked C. Billeb and D. Hager of their interest in the positions.
- It was agreed that officers should have a direct understanding of county government and public mental health, where we are at, and where we want to go moving forward. Those individuals include K. Gibbs, L. Leonhard, R. Stowe, C. Wylie, C. Billeb, and D. Hager. It was also noted that representation of the three officers should include members of other counties and not all one county.
- **Motion** by Billeb, second by Stowe, to recommend Deb Hager for the Chair Elect officer to the Board at the annual meeting. Motion carried.
- **Motion** by Billeb, second by Hager, to recommend Robin Stowe for the Secretary/Treasurer officer to the Board at the annual meeting. Motion carried.

Review Board Membership Relative to Board Competencies to Identify Priorities for Candidate Pools and Board Development

- D. Adzic has reviewed the NCCSP Bylaws and noted there are a couple of inconsistencies with the process of officers and terms which could be amended to help clarify the process. There are no restrictions to when Bylaws can be amended.
- A process to help learn of interest and competencies for members of the Board including being an officer would be a valuable resource.
- A more robust discussion with the entire Board may be helpful to identify trainings, competencies, and educations for leadership roles.
- The committee asked J. Meschke to request Chair Gibbs add this to the Executive Committee agenda with expectation of moving to the full Board for discussion.

### <u>Adjourn</u>

• Motion/second, Billeb/Hager, to adjourn the meeting at 3:28 p.m. Motion carried.

Minutes prepared by Debbie Osowski, Executive Assistant to CEO